Saturday afternoon. This past weekend. We were driving from Target to Costco. Stopped at a four way stop. Pulled through intersection and I looked out my window (passenger window) and saw that the car on our right was not stopping at their stop sign. I yelled at Jeff that we were going to get hit. Jeff stepped on the gas.
BANG!
We spun 90 degrees. Both kids started screaming. Jeff jumped out of the car to talk to the other driver. Other driver drove away! We couldn't believe it. Jeff started running after the car to get close enough to see their license plate. I started checking on the kids - both were fine, just shaken up.
Car drove away. Another guy in a car saw everything happen and I thought, took off after the run away driver.
Jeff called 9-1-1. Neither one of us could remember anything about the driver or car. The firetruck came. We didn't need to go to the hospital. A car pulled in. It was a manager from Costco who had followed the run away car. He told us he followed him for miles and called the police with license plate number. We were so happy to hear that. Costco guy said, "We'll get that f*%&er!" Despite his language, those were our thoughts exactly.
Police came. We started giving our report. Meanwhile, at least 30 minutes have passed. Another car pulls into parking lot. A disheveled older man gets out of the car and walks up to us. He puts out his hand to shake Jeff's hand and says, "I'm so glad I found you guys. I'm the guy who hit you. I've been driving around trying to find you." Jeff does not shake said man's hand.
Seriously? I said, "Where have you been driving around to for 30 minutes? Why didn't you just stop?"
Man - "Ah, well, I don't know this area very well and I've been driving around trying to find you guys."
Whatever, dude. When you hit another car you stop, even if you block traffic. You don't disappear and take 30 minutes to drive around the block.
Officer asks man for license and insurance. "Sure, officer. I'll get it. Sure thing." He comes back and hands the officer an invalid license, says he doesn't have insurance (figures), and he just bought the car so the title isn't in his name. Of all the people to hit us, it's this guy.
Two hours later, they impound his car, tow our car and we call our neighbors for a ride home.
Jeff drove to the body shop with the tow guy and they put the car up on the lifter thing to look at the damage and find the hit-and-run guys license plate lodged under our car (although the plates belong to whomever he bought the car from). So, we wondered if he got home, found out he was missing his license plate when he inspected the damage on his car and figured he was busted anyway and decided to come back.
Jeff is driving a rental car for the next 2 weeks and it all has been a total pain in the butt.
No comments:
Post a Comment